My Top 5 MC’s currently

One of the most common questions I hear all the time is ” Yo Sol Z,,Who’s your favorite rappers”?

I know for myself, When I hear the answer from other emcees, It usually opens up to me their own artistic skills and appreciation for the culture.
As far as my my top 5 is concerned, it’s ever-changing, never staying the same for too long of a time.
This is my current favorite industry emcees that keep it original, witty, and full of good music to hear at all the times.. Me personally, I like a variety of music and this list is indicative of that.

So here it is!!! Comment with your lists and compare with your personal favorites.. Peace and let’s enjoy Hip-Hop together, regardless of your own taste.

5.Redman

4.Eminem


3.MF DOOM


2.Ghostface Killah


1.Abstract (Q-Tip)

43 responses to “My Top 5 MC’s currently

  1. Devineprincipal

    1.Vinnie paz
    2. Action bronson
    3.ghostface
    4.immortal technique
    5.blu

  2. Devineprincipal

    Vinnie paz.. Jedi mind

  3. I agree with the wu-tang people, Eminem not so much.

    My fav mc`s at the moment are Phi Life Cyper. Some no sell out underground hiphop cats from the uk.
    Check em out https://www.facebook.com/pages/Phi-Life-Cypher/111004544169?ref=ts

  4. MiseducatedChick

    Top Five List
    5. Mmurs
    4. Redman
    3. Ghostface
    2. Big L
    1. Nas

  5. Az, styles p, redman,jadakiss, eminem

  6. 1. Nas 2. Jay-Z, Kanye (Tie)3. Jaylib 4. Mos Def 5. Meek Mill. That is my CURRENT list not of all time.

  7. AZ
    Nas
    Biggie
    Big L
    Camron

    Honorable mentions: Sol Zalez, Tame1,Red,Mos Def,Eric Sermon, and a few others I can’t think of.. Big Pun….lol you get the picture

  8. 5.joel ortiz 4.cormega 3.styles p 2.pun 1.kool g rap

  9. common sens
    black thought
    immortal technique
    talib kweli
    guru

  10. but still i have to do a list for female emcees…cause mad female emcees can/will eat male rappers…

  11. krs/nas/jay electronica/doom/ (ghostface, ol dirty, raekwon, rza, redman, g-rap, masta ace…) honorable mention…jadakiss…currently…

  12. qtip
    nas
    em
    krs
    stress1 (lol)

  13. 1. SLICK RICK 2. ANDRE 3000. 3. EMINEM 4. JOE BUDDEN 5. REDMAN

  14. Sal Alu Mustahfa

    Nothing against anyones list so.
    1.T.I.P
    2.Oschino
    3.KGR (G Rap)
    4.AZ
    5.Lauryn Hill
    This is based off time period for me and don’t get me wrong Jay Z is still the best to ever done it, Em is still the best word crafter, Wayne is still a Martian, 50 still the most efficient “Gorilla Pimp” in the game, Pimp C RIP still the coolest pimp that ever picked up a mic, B Siegel and Cassidy will body a majority of the industry and Nicki’s flow is a hybrid of steroidal estrogen and the T virus from Resident Evil.

  15. 1. Sage Francis
    2. KRS One
    3. 2 PAC
    4. Notorious BIG
    5. Cage

    This is subject to change at anytime or the mood I’m in. By the way, I’d even like to throw Tame One in there anywhere. lol

    • @dolamarx.. yea this list is always changing.. Tame-one is one of the illest cats I’ve worked with and grew up listening to, he gets a well respected mention. Skwad Up!

  16. BIG,PUN,PAC,EMINEM and HOVA…really tough list, like you said for me its interchangeable too. Like a Top 10 would really be more realistic.

  17. 5……..Rakim
    4……..B.D.K
    3……..Cold187
    2……..Slick Rick
    1……..KRS1 & Masta Ace(tie)

  18. Simon Roofless list

    1 busta
    2 jay
    3 ghost
    4 doom
    5 gza

  19. “It goes, Reggie, Jay-Z, Tupac and Biggie, Andre from OutKast, Jada, Kurupt, Nas and then me” -Eminem “Til I Collapse” <——–Apparently Eminem putz Redman@the top of hiz list2!!!

  20. ‎5. Mike Shinoda
    4. Lupe Fiasco
    3. Joe Budden
    2. Crooked I
    1. Eminem

  21. biggie
    em
    jay z
    redman
    dmx

  22. Everything in my humble seemed legit until Tip. Now don’t get me wrong, Q-Tip is a part of a legendary rhyming crew. Tribe reps my born borough and love their style to infinity but I don’t know if he’s still rockin it or if his lyrical proficiency or style is trumping or even seeing Doom, Ghost’s or Redman’s.

    • I put Q-Tip up there for his overall contribution to Hip Hop.. and secondly, this was created to stir up some debate.. My top 5 is always changing and this particular one reflected how I was feeling at the moment.. Peace!!

  23. YO I’M INTERESTED IN THR SHOW WHat up homie? Send me the info

  24. In no order
    Mos Def, Black Thought, Nas, Ghost and 5 changes alot, Sometimes its Masta Ace some times its Sean Price sometimes hell Sometimes its LL Cool J ( I have a TREMENDOUS amount of respect for him) bunch of others i can flip flop

    Interesting you put Q-tip on there Ive always liked Phife better on the lyrics but tip was the better “artist”

  25. 5) Sean Price
    4) Joell Ortiz
    3) Pharoahe Monch
    2) Eminem
    1) Redman

  26. RHINO CMZ’S CURRENT TOP 5 EMCEES: JAY-Z, NAS, EMINEM, PHAROAHE MONCH, LAURYN HILL.

  27. Yo Love your list! Black45

  28. In order here’s mine jayz ;em;red;nas;scarface

  29. Order is tough for me, even narrowing it down to 5 is rough but emcees that come to mind are…

    Rakim
    Pac (note i understand he isnt the best lyricist but was on a level beyond the craft of rap)
    Em
    Brother Ali
    AZ

    Kinda based my list on most played, recently too. subject to change

  30. 5. Joell Ortiz
    4. MF Doom
    3. Ghostface
    2. Eminem
    1. NaS

  31. right now:
    1)kool g rap
    2)big L
    3)Curren$y
    4)Evidence
    5)prodigy of mobb deep

Leave a Reply

